General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

mazda 6

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2020, 07:49 AM
Default mazda 6

Hello, everyone, my first post and I am after a bit of help/advice with my Mazda, so hopefully this is the right area
I am a complete car novice!

My mazda all of a sudden is not working, I last used it 8 days ago, were I had 0 problems with it that I could tell, as in nothing seemed out the ordinary, started fine etc.
Today when I have gone to it to, I have the following symptoms, central locking key and spare do not unlock the car, the physical key does but only the drivers door, it normally would open them all. key in the ignition it doesn't start, i also get no lights no movement from the dash, no radio etc not a single response.

Now I havn't jump started it yet as I am always paranoid about that causing another issue. But my initial thoughts are battery is dead, the battery is 14 months old. But I am surprised that it would suddenly go completely dead. My experiences of flat batteries before have been you still at least get lights or the doors and windows work, but I get nothing.

Hoping someone can shed some light on if its a simple jump start and wont cause any problems or if it might be a bigger problem

many thanks in advance

Old 04-25-2020, 08:09 AM
Super Moderator

Jump start it.
Get it fully recharged- usually 6-8hrs
Get the battery professionally tested along with the charge rate.

Old 04-25-2020, 08:24 AM

Thanks for the response, would you suggest buying a battery charger for it, or take it somewhere as part of a charge and getting tested.
Also with taking a car battery out these days with all the fancy gadgets does anything usually need 'reprogramming'

many thanks again

Old 04-30-2020, 04:40 PM
Default Same Issue with Gen 2 Mazda6

Hello,

I have the same issues with my Mazda6 Gen 2 , 2009 vehicle. Since 28 April 2020.

My normal and spare key did not work.