Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style

2015 CX-5 Fueling Issue

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2014, 04:57 PM
Default 2015 CX-5 Fueling Issue

Hello All,

I attempted to do a search here but could not find anything close to the situation I'm having. This is my first time fueling my new CX-5. After leaving the gas station, I get a "Refill Fuel Tank" message. I pull over to check to make sure the cap was closed correctly 4 times. But the message remained. Then after a few miles, it disappeared but the gauge read near empty and the distance to empty was zero. Then while driving the gauge slowly increased but still distance to empty was zero. Called dealership we bought it from and they said to bring it in.

We take it in and the serve adviser tells us the Master Tech sees nothing wrong and we should call the tech support line to see if they can help us or they can get with tech support if we wanted them to. But in the middle of talking he says that we have to put in 10.2 gallons of gas in and if we did. We told him we thought we put in 11 gallons. He excused himself and goes see his tech. Then comes back and says we must have put in less then 10.2 and that was the issue and the tech was about to reset the gauge. I asked him we always have to fill 10.2 or just a few times since this was a new vehicle. He sates we would always forever have to do this. This sounds crazy to me for many reasons. I'm not the primary driver and I don't want the primary driver to be driving near empty only to avoid this error message. But if we decide to go fuel it less then 10.2, our gauge will read wrong and we would never know how much gas we really have which isn't good either. So we would have to get it reset by the dealer every time we decide to do it this way. Unless there is a way to easily reset it. I forgot to ask the service person that.