Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style

Shopping 2019 GTR

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2019, 05:10 PM
Default Shopping 2019 GTR

Hello, newbie here.

I would appreciate the opinions of forum members as I make a decision here concerning the probable purchase of my first Mazda.

Is there concern about carbon buildup on the intake valves due to this being a GDI engine, or has Mazda engineered things to largely eliminate the problem?

Is there any real reason to wait for the 2020 model?

Does the turbocharger make a real difference? I live at sea level and I'm pretty sure I don't need the turbocharger, but never having owned one, I'm kinda drawn to it. Just not sure a test drive would be enough to convince me one way or the other.

Local dealers are bidding in the $33,500 range.

Thanks

Old 08-07-2019, 07:24 PM

Well, I have the non-turbo version and I am happy with performance and MPG values I get. But that's a personal/budget choice at the end. I still would do (if possible) two lengthy back-to-back test drives. Especially, test merging onto the highway and going from 0 to 60 mph. At the end, you will know which one to prefer.

We have two cars in our household, the other is a VW Golf with a 1.8 turbo engine which I love to drive and which I would not trade-in for a non-turbo hatchback. But for our CX-5, the non-turbo version is adequate in my opinion.

Old 08-08-2019, 06:51 AM

The only possible reason to wait for a 2020, would be if the infotainment system were updated to load faster upon startup. It's painfully slow in my 2019 GTR, but once booted up, performs just fine.