Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Acceleration/Turbo

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2007, 05:01 AM
Default Acceleration/Turbo

I am looking for some advice, i really want to improve acceleration on my 2004 mazda 3 auto, i already have an injen intake and a magnaflow exhaust, i was thinking of a turbo, but i don't want a turbo to kill my engine, any advice? Thanks

Old 06-08-2007, 06:06 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Acceleration/Turbo

I'm no turbo expert, but from what I have read, the Hi-Boost "kit" is highly recommended for stock engines and ease of installation/set-up problems. It is supposed to come w/everything you'd need to convert. And, those that have had problems of one sort or another say that Hi-Boost has excellent customer service and can fix or walk you through anything.
The lower you keep the boost, the less additional strainto the engine. That's the rule... and physical law.
Your Injen and Magnaflow will both go away. 3" exhaust is necessary for the turbo, and I believe (not sure) the Hi-Boost has it's own intake.
Got 4K?

Old 06-08-2007, 09:03 AM

what i've kinda always thought is...is that if you want a fast car with reliability - you have to buy a fast car. (im talkin new cars). maybe you should consider trading in your mazda 3 for a speed3...spending 4k on a turbo from HiBoost that will more than likely accelerate the wear of your engine seems kinda like a bad idea to me. (personally id never do it, im sure some people have)

Sure there are the people that buy a 1.5L civic and dump $20,000 into it and rip the carpeting out of their interiors to make it "cool" and "fast," but with all that money, they could have just bought an actualnice car that went fast out of the factory...im not sayin thats the story with the mazda3, im just sayin before you spend a ton of money on this 3 that you feel is slow, weigh out all the options.