Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Automatic or Manual Option?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2009, 01:23 PM
Default Automatic or Manual Option?

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forums. I got a Mazda3 4-door Auto w/ Manual option for Christmas and have been impressed with it so far. My questions concern the manual option.

Which gets better gas mileage, auto or manual option? And, in what situation should the manual option be used?

Old 01-08-2009, 02:44 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Automatic or Manual Option?

You got a car... FOR CHRISTMAS!!!!??? Can I belong to YOUR family? I have been asking for a new, or even a used Porsche for Christmas for 30 years and all I ever get is a bag of coal.
Well, not to look a gift horse in the mouth, after all it is a very nice, thoughtfuland expensive gift, and it is a Mazda3... Not to make you feel bad, but it is the general consensus that the auto-stick, Man-U-Matic as I like to call them,sucks.
Here"s the deal from my experience:
1) You will likely get overall better mileage by leaving it in auto mode. The trans will up-shift at a boring 1500rpm and downshift at idle.
2) If you leave it in auto-mode you will have a very boring time driving the car.
3) The trans does not match speeds for downshifting so DSing manually sucks.
4) The trans does not up-shift any faster in manual mode, so except for holding a lower gear longer what's the point?
5) It"s a shift-able automatic.
6) It"s a shift-able automatic!!
7)It"s a shift-able automatic!!!! But it is just an automatic. Nothing new about those.
8) Trade it in now and get the 5-sp. If you don"t know how to drive a stick, LEARN.You"ll be much happier, and your mileage will improve too, if you can keep your right foot out of it.
Hey, at 26-28 mpg(some say they get 30) around town, who needs to keep their foot out of it??

Old 01-08-2009, 04:57 PM
VB

ORIGINAL: virgin1