Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

I'm new to Mazda

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2007, 03:30 PM
Default I'm new to Mazda

Hi everyone. I'm new here. I've been a Honda owner and a Nissan owner (both excellent cars). Recently I was in the market for a new compact car and was looking for something sporty; but "Daddy sporty" not "Street car racing" sporty. So the Honda Civic Si was out (plus I was not happy with how Honda redesigned their car this year) and the BMW was too expensive, so I settled for the Mazda 3 S Touring (manual trans).

I love the way the car drives. But after being with it for a week I notice what I feel to be cheap quality parts in the car. In terms of the quality of the visors, the ***** on the AC, the pad/liner in the trunk, the cloth interior, etc... I know these are small things, and I am not worried that I will break the sun visor or rip the carpet and cloth in the car, but what worries me is, if Mazda skimped out on the interior quality, did they do the same on the transmission or any other important engine parts?

My concerns stem from reading posts that engine mounts are breaking and cars are being broken into just by knocking into the side of the door. So far my only negative experience (and I've only had the car for a week mind you) is that when I picked up the car from the dealer, the gas tank read 1/4 full. I asked him where's my full tank of gas? He said that the tank was full and sometimes on the Mazda the tank will read 1/4 full but as I drive around I will see the needle go up. OK, that's weird. Never had that problem before with my other cars. I drove the car around for a couple of days and the needle went up to just above the halfway mark towards 3/4 full. However, is this going to happen everytime I gas up? Or was this a one off thing since it was filled up and driven for the first time? Has anyone had similar experiences?