Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Need advice on mods..

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2008, 08:48 PM
Default Need advice on mods..

Hey everyone... i just bought a brand new 2008 black mazda 3 hatchback. It is a five speed and i am new to modifying cars. i would like any input on mods to do with the car. Mostly cheaper preformance mods. 500 or less. That is just to start. I currently have the car all stock other then a 225 watt jl amp and a 10" jl moblie sub. Any suggestions.

Old 04-28-2008, 09:02 PM
Default RE: Need advice on mods..

intake, header, exhaust. the exhaust should be above $500 for a complete exhaust, but it is worth it.

Old 04-28-2008, 09:04 PM

what kind of intake and i am not sure what a header does

Old 04-29-2008, 03:21 AM
Super Moderator

For street performance, the AEM, Mazdaspeed (same as the AEM,) K&N or Injen should do nicely.
For more trackingperformance, the Fujita.

A header replaces the stock exhaust manifold and depending on how well it's designed and for what, can greatly increase the exhausts ability to extract expended engine gasses. Also expect it to be a louder w/a header.
For street use, a 4-2-1 header is best.That's 4 primary tubescollected into2 tubes followed by a single (1) outlet collector. While this is not the correct header for the M3, the picture should give a better idea of what I'm talking about.

4-2-1 Header >>>

The only one made that I am familiar w/is the Vibrant.Personally I also highly recommend Vibrants cat-back. https://www.mazdaforum.com/m_53114/tm.htm
For the track, a 4-1 for higher rpm performance.

4-1 header >>>

Avoid the OBX header for this model. Those that have tried it have all kinds of fitment and CEL (Check Engine Light) issues.

Old 04-29-2008, 06:12 AM