Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Speed 3 boost?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2007, 06:22 PM
Default Speed 3 boost?

There seem to be several conflicting reports on what the boost pressure is on these vehicles; I've seen 8-18 psi, with most saying around 16 psi when in full throttle in third and beyond, 12 psi in first and second. Does anyone know for sure? What kind of boost can these engines handle (relatively safely)? I'd really like to know.....

Old 05-08-2007, 08:30 PM
Default RE: Speed 3 boost?

With stock parts, the limit seems to be 22 psi. If you get upgraded cams, vavles, stroker kit, etc, you can probably get in the 29-33 psi range (and getting tons of horsepower).

Old 05-08-2007, 09:46 PM
Super Moderator

Where did you get those figures from?
I'm no boost expert, but that seems exceedingly high for anything butperhaps a top fuel engine.
The few stock engine that I'm familiar w, including the MSP, are set between 6-8psi in stock configuration. Some can be modified for up to 12psi, but let the buyer beware.
33psi would be rediculous!!
And what effectwould a stroker kit have on the boost level?

Old 05-08-2007, 09:55 PM

[:'(][:'(]No way is the Speed3 running 22-30 lbs of boost.

I'd say probably around 15 psi...let me do a little snooping around and see what I can find.

Old 05-08-2007, 09:56 PM

yeah, i would say that if you wanted to go up above 18-20 psi, you would be risking internal damage. these cars are built to take punishment, but there is only so far that you can push them. remember, no matter how well they are built, they are still stock.