Mazda5 This new sport van from Mazda offers the interior size and usefulness of a minivan with the feel and spirit of a sport compact.

My new 2012 Mazda5 GT...

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2011, 06:07 PM
Default My new 2012 Mazda5 GT...

I picked up this new 5 last week from Mazda of Escondido (San Diego). It's the Grand Touring model, which arrived at the dealer the day before I bought it.

Although I'm a noob here (this is my first post), this 5 happens to be the fifth new Mazda I've owned:
  • 1972 Mazda RX2 Coupe
  • 1974 Mazda RX4 Wagon
  • 1985 Mazda 626 5-Door HB
  • 2007 Mazda CX-9 GT
  • 2012 Mazda5 GT
Obviously, I'm an old guy. The 5 grabbed me because I'm newly retired ($$$ are more sacred than ever!), but still have two of four kids around: a high schooler for whom I handle car pool duties; and a college student 320 miles away without a car). I'm a daily poster on several forums, just none of them car-related.

I've always loved aftermarket goodies, and found myself adding a few to my new 5. IMHO, they transform the 5 into a more eye-catching, sporty vehicle. I refer to it as a "micro-van," avoiding the negative connotation of "mini-van" like the plague. BTW, the wheels are 18x7.5" ADR "Victory" in 48mm offset, and the tires are 225/40ZR-18 Venezia Crusade HPs. They fit perfectly.

So, here's my Mazda5 a few days after purchase. The chrome Mazdaspeed license frames arrived just yesterday by mail, so I added a few pics of those at the tail end.

Hope you like...I sure do.

Last edited by johnnieboy; 03-17-2011 at 07:01 PM.
Old 03-17-2011, 06:50 PM

Some first impressions after one week...
  • I love driving it and looking at it!
  • Although it's brand new, I'm disappointed the average fuel economy reported on the instrument panel is only 17.5 miles per U.S. gallon after 3/4 of a tank. I've been driving VERY easy, but do need to climb hills frequently. My CX-9 returned about 13.5 MPG driven fairly hard.