Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. ALMOST anything goes.

Final Year Uni Transportation Design Project: Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2010, 06:58 PM
Default Final Year Uni Transportation Design Project: Help Needed

Hi all,

I am currently in my final year of Transportation Design at Northumbria Uni. For my final project I am looking to design and develop some Mazda based accessories that would be both representative of the Mazda brand and also be a desirable product, rather than just producing cheap designs with a Mazda logo emblazoned on it.

If you could help me in this by posting a few details that would be much appreciated.

Please could you tell me your: age, sex, job description (optional), model of car and what accessory or accessories you would like to see designed, that enhance and represent the Mazda brand (the accessories do not have to be car based).

Any help would be fantastic!

Old 01-16-2010, 04:54 AM
Super Moderator

Let me start by welcoming you to the site and wishing you the best with your project.

Many enthusiasts want to add electrical accessories (various lights or stereo amplifiers, deactivation switches, etc) and use the un-used switch plates on the left side of the dash (LHD cars.)
The OE ones are hard to modify for std available switches because they are bulged instead of flat. How about making a set switch plates that would fit in there? You could offer them pre-drilled for some pretty std switches that are currently available. e.g. Drilled 1/2" hole, one for a rectangular rocker style switch, and of course offer a blank for custom installs.

Or, if you are willing to take on a bigger challenge:
What I might like to see an improvement on are better looking aftermarket LED taillights... something closer to the OE LEDs, only in the $100-$200 range? Though I already have a pair, the current AM picks are kinda' weak looking, imo.
These are examples of what's currently available: