Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. ALMOST anything goes.

Fun Question for you all

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2024 | 10:53 PM
|
Smile Fun Question for you all

So the fun question is: Will drivers under 25 (young drivers) at some point in their life get car insurance rates similar to 25+ counterparts? Is it already possible to get the same rates as someone who is 25+?

For some background, I am a 20-year-old male driver. (Yes, in a group full of perhaps very risky drivers...) I own a Mazda which I take to college. The good news is that my rates aren't as high as every other young male driver. (Because I qualified for a student discount, and on a family insurance plan where rates are based on average age in the family) Sure, not on par with drivers 25 or older, but less than some of the risky drivers under 25. I haven't gotten into any accidents (thankfully!), do my best to obey the rules, went to a strict driving school in my town for drivers ed, and even learned driving on my mom's '16 Lexus CT200h (not some performance car or enthusiast track toy, which I am also grateful for).

But for everybody else, that isn't the case. (Due to statistics in my age group) With insurance companies charging under 25s higher rates than those over 25, rental car companies and car dealerships (Loaner/Courtesy Car Program) are taking action too. The minimum age to rent a car is 21, with additional fees till you are 25. (Mainly due to insurance) To get a loaner car at a dealership, the minimum age is also 21. The high insurance rates for young drivers also excludes a few young folks (15-24 age group) from driving or owning, according to a few of my peers and around and in the media.

What would happen one day if insurance companies said, "Lets make the insurance rates for the young-driver age group the same as the 25+ age group"? Will it benefit the young crowd?

Old 08-06-2024 | 02:35 AM